Heartbreaker: Watching the BSOP show this morning I saw a really good report about the famous poker “talk”. When I heard people talking about it I thought they were “mistakes” lol. Well, the last quote in particular made me laugh out loud and it went like this: “I played like I never played before, I lost like I always did”
I only found one definition of a poker line, which is, in short, the following: Influencing your opponent's actions through what you are saying (whether by intimidating him or feigning weakness). According to this definition, the phrase I quoted above would not fit as a line. Another quoted phrase that I just remembered was the following: "If you fold, I'll show you what I've got." This phrase would fit the definition of a line that I found.
Can anyone confirm for me whether these two phrases would fit as poker lines? I also ask that you mention any that you know.:happy34:
Heartbreaker: Also consider the players' body language in this definition.
For me, all of this is valid, but many places prohibit this type of behavior on the part of players (if this is the case, Negreanu should be banned from the sport :D). These lines are nothing more than “psychological bets and folds”, they are just another way to win the hand. Whoever wants to give it a go!
fsfonseca: The other day, I had KK and the flop came out with an A… I had already made a big raise and the guy had called. Before I could bet, the guy wrote in the chat: “woohoo… AA!”. I had no doubts: I pushed all-in on him.
He stopped, thought and paid with his JJ…
Tex Wilde: I'm sure of one thing, at least the last 5 times someone wrote in the chat that they had AA, they really did have AA!
The cool thing is that when they write this, no one believes it and they go to the showdown, and then the guys say something like: “I told you so!!”…lol
TrezeRJ: I'm sure of one thing, at least the last 5 times someone wrote in the chat that they had aa, they really did have aa!
The cool thing is that when they write this, no one believes it and they go to the showdown, and then the guys say something like: “I told you so!!”…lol
hahahahahahahahahahahahahha!!!
Infanato: there bro, he wrote in the chat cryptographic reading on it, and that was it…
Heartbreaker: I'm sure of one thing, at least the last 5 times someone wrote in the chat that they had AA, they really did have AA!
The cool thing is that when they write this, no one believes it and they go to the showdown, and then the guys say something like: “I told you so!!”…lol
I agree! It seems that saying you have a certain hand leads your opponent to think something like: “Ok, so he doesn't have what he's saying, because if he really did he wouldn't tell me…”. Who said that you can only bluff with bets? Anything goes!! That's poker men!!
Aandysilvaa: Phil Hellmut is full of these things when he talks lol
Ae in the big game, Harlow got caught, I tried to intimidate him but the guy stood like a statue and didn't say anything lol
Ae ele comoçou a chinga isso tem cara de bluf o cara da check no flop e all in no turn **¨¨*? 5file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image001 Tfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image001 7file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image001 Turn trouxe 8file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image002 na mesa o harlow com 8file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image0038file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image004 Phil tinha Afile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image001Jfile:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/UserName/CONFIG%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image002 pensou, pensou, pensou fold
Then in the following hand Phil entered the hand Harlow check Phill bet with entry for the Harlow all in sequence….
LOL he was really pissed off…
Aandysilvaa: It reminded me of this situation…
Phil Hellmut is full of these things when he talks lol
Ae in the big game, Harlow got caught, I tried to intimidate him but the guy stood like a statue and didn't say anything lol
Then he started swearing, this looks like a bluff, the guy checks the flop and all-in on the turn **¨¨*? 5:club: T:club: 7:club: Turn brought 8:spade: on the table, Harlow with 8:heart:8:diamond: Phil had A:club:J:diamond: thought, thought, thought fold
Right on the other hand phil entered with a raise harlow call/check check phill bet with an entry for the two-point straight harlow all in….
LOL he was really pissed off... He looked at everyone around him and must have been thinking, "Go to hell!" He gave a fake laugh and folded his arms, still talking to Harlow, "What do you have?" A couple, is that what you have? husauhsauhs
Heartbreaker: Another example of a line taken from another forum here at PD. Read the whole thing to understand the situation.
…
The following hand took place Live at a poker “house” in Brasilia.
Which left me really unsure whether I was right or wrong.
I had TT.
Flopped
2:diamond:3:spade:8:spade:
raise on the villain's river call (which was between me and the Dealer)
on the turn it brought a 2:club: I knew that Villain was on the flush draw… (I play with him constantly)
In the middle of the commotion and because the dealer was on the side (I thought the Villain had tabled and I pushed the house... (all in) but the Villain hadn't tabled yet.
The villain changed the action by betting 1 real.
The question is does my all in prevail or can I just call at 1 real?
(There were already 200 reais in the pot)
Second thing.
on the river I brought the :spade:
I just talked about the all in that I pay.
He went all in and I folded. (is that wrong?)
…
RicardoSzZ: There are some rules about talking during the game, the one about saying you're going to call and not paying in the BSOP could probably be grounds for punishment, I'm not sure what the rules are, I'll look again in Leo Bello's book, in chapter 2 they show these rules. It all depends on what is said, if it interferes with the opponent's decision the tournament director can punish the talker and of course it depends a lot, sometimes on whether or not you are close to the person who is talking I think.
Vadiu: bridge down, everyone on the ground!
best line imo lol
Ruus7y:
Originally Posted by Leandrinhuuu buttons/viewpost
…
The following hand took place Live at a poker “house” in Brasilia.
Which left me really unsure whether I was right or wrong.
I had TT.
Flopped
2:diamond:3:spade:8:spade:
raise on the villain's river call (which was between me and the Dealer)
on the turn it brought a 2:club: I knew that Villain was on the flush draw… (I play with him constantly)
In the middle of the commotion and because the dealer was on the side (I thought the Villain had tabled and I pushed the house... (all in) but the Villain hadn't tabled yet.
The villain changed the action by betting 1 real.
The question is does my all in prevail or can I just call at 1 real?
(There were already 200 reais in the pot)
Second thing.
on the river I brought the :spade:
I just talked about the all in that I pay.
He went all in and I folded. (is that wrong?)
…
constant errors there.
And if this is wrong? This shouldn't even exist!
Original author: Heartbreaker.